top of page

Mpls Council race sees progressive gains, Jenkins holds on

Councilmember Robin Wonsley ran unopposed in Ward 2 and won re-election with 67% of the vote. She is now part of a progressive majority on the Minneapolis City Council.

Minneapolis voters elected two new progressive members to the city council, shifting its political leanings further to the left.

Aurin Chowdhury won in Ward 12, replacing Andrew Johnson who did not run for reelection. Katie Cashman won in Ward 7 after Lisa Goodman announced her retirement earlier this year.

“I have met so many of our neighbors throughout the last ten months of campaigning. I am honored that they shared their hopes and dreams about our ward and city with me,” Katie Cashman wrote in a statement. “I am hopeful for all that the future holds in Minneapolis.”

Sitting Council President Andrea Jenkins narrowly fended off a challenge from progressive candidate Soren Stevenson. Stevenson led Jenkins all Wednesday morning, but never breached the 50% threshold. Jenkins eked out a comeback after second and third rank votes were tabulated, winning by a mere 38 votes.

Stevenson is within the bounds to request a recount, but his campaign has yet to announce whether it’s decided to do so.

The election puts progressives in the majority, which has the potential to shift how the council votes on issues from housing to policing. The council is now made up of seven progressives and six moderates.

Voter turnout in Minneapolis this cycle was low, with less than 79,000 votes being cast. That is a 45% decrease from 2021, when 145,000 votes were cast.


bottom of page